Pamela Dellal, mezzo soprano


uncommon intelligence, imagination and textual awareness...



Motet Notes

Heinrich Schütz: "O Herr hilf" SWV 402

The concerto "O Herr Hilf" is the shortest of the works in the Third Book of Schütz’ Symphoniae Sacrae.  The work is an expansion of a work published about ten years previous in the "Kleine Geistliche Konzerte" The three solo voices combine in close and jittery canons accompanied by two solo violins.  The whole work is predictive of the catastrophe that happened five days later.

©Craig Smith