Pamela Dellal, mezzo soprano


uncommon intelligence, imagination and textual awareness...



Motet Notes

Johann Hermann Schein: "Dennoch bleibe ich stets an dir"

(Israelsbrünnlein 1623)

Today’s motet is one of the shortest and simplest in Schein’s collection of “madrigals for five voices.”
The four key verbs in the text are presented in four musical paragraphs.
1) remain: a melody presented in a syncopated counterpoint, then twice as slow
2) hold: two sustained low pedalpoints below a lagging soprano descant
3) lead: three gliding downward sequences (reminiscent of Monteverdi)
4) take (me up): a rhythm four times emphatically repeated.
A considerable repertoire of graphic gestures in a short space of time.

© John Harbison